Band Profile

In the Silence

In the Silence
Hometown: Sacremento, CA Current Label: Sensory Records Websites: Official Website
Facebook Profile
Band Members: Josh Burke - Guitars and Vocals, Nathan Higgins - Guitars, Niko Panagopoulos - Drums, Dennis Davis: Bass, Brandon Guadangolo - Keyboards

In the Silence Bio:

In the Silence are a Dark/Atmospheric/Progrssive Metal Band, formed in Sacramento California in 2007 by Guitarist/Vocalist/Songwriter Josh Burke, with long-time friend and member of several previous bands Dennis Davis on Bass, and Niko Panagopoulos on drums. Nathan Higgins joined as the second guitarist in 2009, and in 2013, Brandon Guadagnolo, formerly of With Passion (earache records), was added on keyboards. Listeners may find similarities to bands like Opeth, Katatonia, Anathema, Riverside, and Porcupine Tree, yet In the Silence have a sound all their own. A certain melancholy and darkness pervades the melodies and atmospheres, reflecting the sense of grief at what has been lost, destroyed and forgotten in our world, while the lyrics offer hope and reflection, and ask the question, will we choose a better world, or continue to see ourselves as separate from each-other, and destroy our mother earth in this “fair dream gone mad?” The name In the Silence itself is inspired from the spiritual/metaphysical idea that in total silence, looking inward, the light of the infinite being within us comes into focus, where all creativity and true knowledge are found.
After several years of writing, and playing live to enthusiastic local audiences, they self-released and self-financed their debut album A Fair Dream Gone Mad in June of 2012. Produced and engineered by Jack Tramell at Fat Cat Recording studios, known for his pristine production work, the album took on a life of it's own shortly after the release, helping the band to gain new fans across the globe, and racking up critical acclaim in the underground world of progressive metal, including reaching #2 on's Best Debut Album of 2012, and # 5 on their Best Progressive Metal Album of 2012, #9 on editor Rick Gebhardt's top ten of 2012. In October 2012 they attracted the attention of Claus Jensen at Intromental Management, who brought them on board and negotiated a deal with Sensory Records (part of Laser's Edge Group) to re-release A Fair Dream Gone Mad, with much more promotion and distribution than the band were able to do on their own. The album was officially re-released on May 7th, 2013, and is now available on itunes, and more, with a CD version featuring a high quality digi-pack available in the U.S. and Europe. They are looking forward to performing at the Thursday Kick-Off show of Progpower USA in September 2013, as well as other yet to be announced tour dates, while writing music for their next album. Follow them on Twitter @inthesilence101 and

More News On In the Silence:

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.