Band Profile


Hometown: New York City Current Label: Steamhammer Websites: Official Website
MySpace Profile
Facebook Profile
Band Members: Tony Moore- Vocals
Mike Flyntz - Guitar
Don Van Stavern - Bass
Bobby Jarzombek - Drums


After initial success in the early 80’s, iconoclastic metal band RIOT rose from the ashes after a few years of silence to release THUNDERSTEEL (CBS 1988), an album that would become as celebrated as the new line-up that spawned it: Mark Reale (guitars), Tony Moore (vocals), Don Van Stavern (bass), Bobby Jarzombek (drums), and Mike Flyntz (guitars) who joined the group during RIOT's first triumphant THUNDERSTEEL Tour of Japan.

Their follow-up release, THE PRIVILEGE OF POWER (CBS 1990), flexed RIOT’s creative and metal muscles even further, cementing renewed fan interest around the world, particularly in Europe and Japan. In the ensuing years, the THUNDERSTEEL line-up became near-legendary in the metal canon. They were hailed as “the bridge between Priest and speed metal” and have been heralded as an influence by many, including Hammerfall who cover RIOT’s “Flight Of The Warrior” off THUNDERSTEEL on their new CD, 'Masterpieces.'

With Reale, Moore, Van Stavern, Jarzombek, and Flyntz joining forces once again for the first in some 20 years, the RIOT saga adds another exciting chapter, with European audiences set to experience the power of the THUNDERSTEEL constellation for at first time ever.

But perhaps most importantly, RIOT are eager to prove their mettle and continued vitality with a new album under way and scheduled for a October 2011 release.

More News On RIOT:

One Comment

  1. RIOT guitarist Mark Reale dead at 57 – Metal Riot1/26/2012 7:18 AM | Permalink

    […] Metal News, Reviews, and More NewsRadarMRTV Black MetalMetal Riot Album ReviewsUpcoming ShowsAlbum Release ScheduleMetal Riot Band IndexMetal Riot Label IndexMetal Heads Chart Sign In|Sign Up function setReview(x){ var y = 1; while(y Previous Story|Next Story […]

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.