Album Review

Album Review: Punk Goes 90s Volume 2

Posted by XxCrashQueenxX on Thursday, April 3, 2014 at 11:16 AM (PST)
Editor Rating:
    User's Rating:

PG90s OUT NOW Oh Nostalgia, how you hit me while listening to Fearless Records’ latest Punk Goes 90s Vol. 2.

While listening to this entire album I felt like running into the depths of my garage to find all my old 90s objects, Pokemon cards, Togs, and Lite-Brights. It would only make sense to have the best 90s objects while listening to a collection of songs that created the perfect 90s play-list.

To read more click here.

I enjoyed this album to the fullest. I was almost too happy to hear old songs like “All Star” (originally performed by Smash Mouth) given new life by Chunk! No, Captain Chunk!

Some of the specific tracks that stand out in my mind are:

Yellowcard’s version of “Today” and Memphis May Fire‘s rendition of “Interstate Love Song.” These were songs I thought the bands would have a hard time covering, but the bands managed to make the songs their own without losing the original creator’s artistic intentions.

The Ghost Inside did a fantastic job of covering P.O.D.’s “Southtown.” The Ghost Inside’s cover is my personal favorite on the album. They did complete justice to the original.

I did find some of the bands that chose to cover the songs interesting. For example, Falling In Reverse decided to cover a Coolio song. If that’s not out there, I don’t know what is. The decision to cover a Coolio song is brave period. It was the only song on the album I wasn’t completely happy with.

The complete track list is as follows:

1. Get Scared – “My Own Worst Enemy” originally performed by Lit
2. Memphis May Fire – “Interstate Love Song” originally performed by Stone Temple Pilots
3. Asking Alexandria – “Closer” originally performed by Nine Inch Nails
4. The Color Morale – “Everlong” originally performed by Foo Fighters
5. Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! – “All Star” originally performed by Smash Mouth
6. Mayday Parade – “Comedown” originally performed by Bush
7. Motionless In White – “Du Hast” originally performed by Rammstein
8. Yellowcard – “Today” originally performed by The Smashing Pumpkins
9. Hands Like Houses – “Torn” originally performed by Natalie Imbruglia
10. The Ghost Inside – “Southtown” originally performed by P.O.D
11. Falling In Reverse – “Gangsta’s Paradise” originally performed by Coolio
12. Ice Nine Kills – “Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)” originally performed by Green Day

The Ghost Inside:





Thank you to Tim M. for reaching out.

To keep up with all things Fearless Records check out their Facebook page and remember to follow them on Instagram: @FearlessRecords. Also, if you haven’t already picked up the album, head to the Fearless Records webpage to find out where to get your hands on a copy!

Facebook Conversations


Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.