Lo-Pan cover art for “Colossus” is my favorite of 2014 so far

Posted by Morgan Y Evans - Walking Bombs on Thursday, July 24, 2014 at 11:41 AM (PST)


There have been some great album covers this year which defy the idea that an MP3 alone doesn’t need corresponding record art. Sure, digital is in some ways better for the environment (unless you start talking about mining issues worldwide to meet demands of technology, but I digress).

There has been some great shit out this year artistically, from Castle’s Russian symbolic painter Denis Forkas Kostromitin (who worked with Behemoth after first working with Castle, previously) painting for Under Siege to the very Zen/xistential San Francisco artist Seth Curcio’s Empress AD work for Still Life Moving Fast… but Lo-Pan’s Colossus art takes the cake thus far.

Maybe I just have a mutant boner for the upcoming X-Men: Age Of Apocalypse, but in that case you’d think the Lo-Pan record would be called “Archangel” instead if “Colossus”, though at this point I think Gambit and Wolverine were Horseman of Death as well, so I can’t fucking keep track. Point being, this art from the Ohio rockers next Small Stone release by Jason Alexander Byers (ex-Disengage, Black Black Black) is killer, bold, simple and apocalyptic. It would make a great tattoo and look great on an LP jacket…or a biker jacket.

Click Here to see the art and track listing.


Colossus Track Listing:

1. Regulus
2. Land Of The Blind
3. Black Top Revelation
4. Marathon Man
5. N.P.D.
6. Colossus
7. Vox
8. Eastern Seas
9. Relo
10. The Duke

Facebook Conversations


Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.