Metal Blade announces details of fallen GWAR guitarist’s solo album; release first single

Posted by SeanB on Tuesday, April 24, 2012 at 5:58 AM (PST)

Most people know Cory Smoot as the guitarist from GWAR who recently passed away tragically.  If you don’t know, you can get the whole story here, but it really sucks because he had a wife and a kid on the way.  Well Cory recorded an album before his death called The Cory Smoot Experiment and Metal Blade is releasing it with all proceeds going to The Smoot Family Fund.  This fund was set up by Gwar and Metal Blade to help out Cory’s family so this is definitely a worthwhile purchase.

The album is being called When World’s Collide and will be available June 5, 2012.  To listen to the song “Countdown To Oblivion”, see a tracklist, and a quote about Cory’s memory from David Brockie click here.

Oderus Urungus had this to say about Cory recently:

“Cory Smoot is one of the great unsung heroes of metal. His musical abilities transformed GWAR from a splatter-thrash phenomena into a top metal act. And though he may have left us way too early, he left us a lifetime of music to listen to. He tore it up like few others, and will always be remembered as the true Flattus Maximus. We really loved the man, and there is not a day that goes by or a GWAR show that is played where he is not sorely missed”

When Worlds Collide Track Listing:

1. The Blood Red

2. Fortunate Son

3. Religion is Fiction

4. Rebirth

5. Brainfade

6. Mandatory Purgatory

7. Countdown to Oblivion

8. The Gauntlet

9. When Worlds Collide

10. Mutilation

11. Hollow Tree

12. Sloth Loves Chunk


Facebook Conversations


Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.