General News

Symphony X “Iconoclast” artwork and track listing

Posted by NichTheHair on Friday, March 25, 2011 at 12:44 PM (PST)

American progressive metal agressors Symphony X unveil two versions of the artwork for their Nuclear Blast debut “Iconoclast.”

Illustrator and film concept artist Warren Flanagan (Watchmen, The Incredible Hulk, 2012) is the talent behind the album artwork. Here, he shares his creative process on the new album’s artwork:

“The idea was to create imagery that was a little darker in tone to previous Symphony X albums and to represent the overall theme of Iconoclast into the artwork. The whole concept came from Mike [Romeo], who had a strong idea of what the cover should represent based off the music. I just ran with it. When the album’s title was decided on, I focused the image based on the meaning of it. I also wanted to use the band’s signature ‘masks’ but present them in a way that connected to the new album.”

Click here for hi-res shots of the art, track listings for each,  and founder & lead guitarist Michael Romeo’s comments on the covers.
“We worked with Warren on the last CD, Paradise Lost, and have a good relationship with him. When I talk to Warren about artwork ideas, a lot of times we end up making comparisons to films and movies. With the new CD, Iconoclast, the music and lyrics have a darker mechanical/technological theme, and I remember us talking about scenes from films like The Matrix and Terminator. From there, we sent him some song titles and lyrics (songs like ‘Dehumanized,’ ‘Bastards Of The Machine,’ ‘Electric Messiah’) and just let Warren run with the ball. He has a great imagination and style, and he totally gets what we are trying to convey with the music.”

CD 1:
01. Iconoclast
02. The End Of Innocence
03. Dehumanized
04. Bastards Of The Machine
05. Heretic
06. Children Of A Faceless God
07. When All Is Lost

CD 2: (Special Edition Only)
01. Electric Messiah
02. Prometheus (I Am Alive)
03. Light Up The Night
04. The Lords Of Chaos
05. Reign In Madness

Facebook Conversations


Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.