Break Up

Underoath says farewell, announces final tour

Posted by Fireball13 on Wednesday, October 3, 2012 at 11:28 AM (PST)

After fifteen years, Florida metalcore band Underoath have broken up. The band released seven acclaimed in total, including the mid-2000’s releases They’re Only Chasing Safety and Define The Great Line.

The band is closing an era during which it served as a pillar of the heavy music scene. Their fifteen-year career made a monumental impact on millions of fans and forever changed the face of heavy music.

The band issued the following statements:

“It’s sad to say that we feel like it’s time to close this chapter, but we have never seen things more clearly,” says vocalist Spencer Chamberlain. “These have been the best years of my entire life, and I owe that to every single person who ever supported this band along the way. This wasn’t a quick decision by any means. It’s just time for us to move on.”

“Over the past decade or so of our lives, we have been able to live a dream traveling the world, playing music that excites us, and meeting more amazing people than we could have ever fathomed,” says keyboardist Chris Dudley. “This couldn’t be a more bittersweet moment for us. We have accomplished more, met more friends, seen more places and have just done more than we could have ever imagined, and we really wanted to just go out on the highest note possible. That’s why we have put together a group of great friends and musicians for what will be our final tour ever. We are taking every moment of this tour as an opportunity to say goodbye to you all, as well as celebrate what has taken place over all these years. The love we have and the debt of gratitude that we owe to all of you is not able to be measured in any way.”

“We don’t take this very lightly and it’s heartbreaking for all of us,” Chamberlain says of the band’s announcement, “but all good things must come to an end. We love all of you and hope to see you again soon.”

The band will be releasing an anthology album, Anthology 1999-2013, on November 6th via Solid State Records. The album was recorded with longtime producer Matt Goldman and the two new songs represent the final material recorded by the band. Click here to see a track list of the album.

Underoath has announced that they will be embarking on a farewell tour in 2013, featuring fan-favorite songs that span the entirety of their career. Further details will be announced soon. We’ll keep you posted.

Anthology 1999-2013 track list:

1. Sunburnt

2. Unsound

3. In Division

4. Catch Myself Catching Myself

5. Paper Lung

6. Desperate Times, Desperate Measures

7. Too Bright To See, Too Loud To Hear

8. In Regards To Myself

9. You’re Ever So Inviting

10. Writing On The Walls

11. A Boy Brushed Red Living In Black And White

12. Reinventing Your Exit

13. It’s Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door

14. I’ve Got Ten Friends And A Crowbar That Says You Ain’t Gonna Do Jack

15. When The Sun Sleeps

16. Cries Of The Past

17. Heart Of Stone

Facebook Conversations


Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.