Band Profile


Hometown: Athens, Ohio Current Label: Prosthetic Records Websites: Official Website
MySpace Profile
Facebook Profile
Twitter Profile
Band Members: Chance Garnette- Vocals
Nate "N8 Feet Under" Garnette- Guitar
Scott "Scunty D" Hedrick- Guitar
Evan "Loosh" Linger- Bass

Skeletonwitch Bio:

The drought is over. After years in the wilderness, homegrown heavy metal has finally returned. No longer the domain solely of our European forefathers, metal pure in both delivery and creativity is gaining momentum at breakneck speed in the Western Hemisphere. Leading the charge domestically are Ohio’s sons of Midwestern darkness SKELETONWITCH, who have emerged as forerunners of this new American sound. The ‘WITCH’s mighty sonic fortress is an amalgamation of classic Bay Area thrash, Scandinavian death/black metal and NWOBHM. Upping the ante from their Prosthetic debut, Beyond the Permafrost, these five gnarly longhairs show no mercy and take no prisoners on their new long-player, Breathing the Fire.

To lay this nasty, raging slab to tape, SKELETONWITCH traveled to Seattle and hooked up with legendary producer Jack Endino (Nirvana, Soundgarden, High On Fire). To make things extra filthy, The ‘WITCH enlisted Scott Hull of grind kings Pig Destroyer to handle the mastering duties. Tracks like “Crushed Beyond Dust” and the leveling album-opener “Submit to the Suffering” are sure to whip even the most jaded metal fan into a psychotic frenzy.

“Breathing the Fire is a burning, fucking beast!” says guitarist Scott Hedrick. “The drums are monstrous; Chance’s sickening vocals sound inhuman and somehow retain amazing clarity; Evan’s bass sounds like Steve Harris, Lemmy and D.D. Verni in a blender; and the guitars sound like jousting chainsaws. A lot of people said that on Beyond the Permafrost, we married black and thrash metal. With Breathing the Fire, they banged and had a kid – and that baby’s a burner!”

SKELETONWITCH’s vicious live show and fierce blue-collar ethic have helped to establish the band as torchbearers of today’s metal scene. They have logged countless miles on the road crisscrossing the nation with the likes of Municipal Waste, Job For A Cowboy, Amon Amarth and Dimmu Borgir, and they’ll do so again this fall when they hit the road with Children of Bodom and The Black Dahlia Murder. The band also made high-profile appearances at the 2008 New England Metal and Hardcore Fest, this year’s Scion Rock Fest in Atlanta (along with Mastodon, High on Fire, etc.) and South By Southwest, and were handpicked by Glenn Danzig for his 2008 Blackest of the Black tour.

“White van, black t-shirt: that’s been my life since we started SKELETONWITCH,” adds Hedrick. “We love and live for the road. We’ll play the enormo-dome or we’ll play in your fucking closet – we don’t care as long as we get to play. Being out there on the road and mixing it up with all the metalheads is what it’s all about. We’re all one and the same, and if we weren’t fortunate enough to be on the stage, we’d be right in front of it banging our heads.”

SKELETONWITCH formed in 2003 and self-released their debut full-length, At One With the Shadows, in 2004. In 2006, after several underground tours, the band broke through musically with the self-released EP Worship the Witch (which included a limited, handmade edition by Baroness’ John Baizley). Worship the Witch peaked label interest, and in 2007, the band signed with Prosthetic Records and released Beyond the Permafrost, which received numerous accolades in the U.S. and overseas and landed on many year-end “Best Of” lists including Revolver, Decibel, and Pitchfork. The album also cracked the top ten of the CMJ Loud Rock Chart.

SKELETONWITCH brings together the old and sacred elements of true heavy metal, melts them down, and forges them into a brand new monolith of riffage.

More News On Skeletonwitch:


  1. New Music: Skeletonwitch – “Tragedy of Days” – Metal Riot8/19/2011 6:50 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  2. Skeletonwitch UK tour update, to embark on US tour in Spring – Metal Riot2/3/2012 8:48 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  3. Music Video: Skeletonwitch – “The Infernal Resurrection” – Metal Riot3/24/2012 7:59 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  4. Skeletonwitch announce summer 2012 North American tour dates – Metal Riot5/29/2012 6:28 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  5. Skeletonwitch announce European tour dates – Metal Riot6/1/2012 5:10 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  6. Skeletonwitch to enter studio in April – Metal Riot1/15/2013 5:37 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  7. Skeletonwitch releases behind the scenes of video for “Serpents Unleashed” – Metal Riot9/6/2013 11:14 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  8. Skeletonwitch premiere “I Am of Death” music video – Metal Riot9/19/2013 12:43 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  9. Skeletonwitch stream title track from “Serpents Unleashed” – Metal Riot10/11/2013 11:49 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  10. Skeletonwitch announce European tour with Overkill – Metal Riot11/14/2013 12:53 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  11. Skeletonwitch limited-edition vinyl helps save beasts – Metal Riot1/15/2014 1:26 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Skeletonwitch […]

  12. Skeletonwitch introduce new vocalist Adam Clemans |2/10/2016 1:45 PM | Permalink

    […] shoes to fill vocally, but this dude seems up for it. Great scream! Skeletonwitch are too important to the scene and epic to be […]

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.