Band Profile


Hometown: Helsinki, Finnland Current Label: Nuclear Blast Websites: Official Website
MySpace Profile
Facebook Profile
Twitter Profile
Band Members: Jari Mäenpää - Vocals and guitar, Kai Hahto - Drums, Jukka Koskinen - Bass and Teemu Mäntysaari - Guitar

Wintersun Bio:

Intensely harmonious, emotionally packed and traditionally arranged are just some phrases that make up what is WINTERSUN. Instantaneously, one will undergo immediate gratification through the sounds of an astonishing eminence made up of powerful, epic and intricate melodies. On Wintersun, the masterminds proudly utilize the Finnish folklore by unveiling a distinguishing piece of work that will capture one’s mind and take it on an enthralling and imaginative journey through Finnish lands.

Created by ex- Ensiferum’s multi-talented instrumentalist and vocalist Jari Mäenpäa, WINTERSUN were superbly formed with the intention of combining an overwhelming quantity of traditional folk influences while sustaining the classic influential power rhythm in conjunction with fusing the complex black/death style mixture. Alongside Jari, drummer Kai Hahto from the grindcore/death metal band Rotten Sound is the ideal individual to be added unto Mäenpäa’s creation. Amongst Hahto’s proficient and mind-blowing drum work, he remarkably and equally pertains an astonishing musicianship through extreme dedication.

Given an extraordinary impression as a result of highly influential acts such as Amorphis (early years), Children of Bodom, Finntroll and Ensiferum, the members of WINTERSUN commence exploring vital melancholic and majestic sounds while hypnotically delivering diversified song spectrums over a variation of heavy guitar tracks among imperious and mid-tempo opuses. Capable of remaining dynamic and enthusiastic throughout Wintersun, Jari and Kai establish choruses that evoke a vigorous atmosphere that give the songs a powerful and emotional tone, allowing WINTERSUN to emit a pummeling assault of complex guitar solos that synchronize a unique and expressive point of view.

From the opening track “Beyond The Dark Sun” through to “Winter Madness,” the band demonstrates their strong emphasis on the material by executing rapid and belligerent, yet essential technical abilities that only Jari and Kai are prepared to bestow. Mäenpäa’s possession of rhythmical vocals suits the musical atmosphere flawlessly while creating a steady structure in which he builds solid, dark, ambient and aggressive song melodies. While epic, melodic folk influenced choruses displayed in “Sleeping Stars” and “Death And The Healing” creates the distinctive and enchanting melancholic characteristics that give the material a personal significance that progress throughout the album.

WINTERSUN will soon become the vivacious leaders of the ever expanding metal scene, breaking boundaries and advocating the traditional musical sound that is swarming of rhythmic melodies with a specific vision to continue simulating extreme brutality. Compelling, enchanting and raging drum patterns along heavy metal riffs and folk-like vocals aid in the myriad of neoclassical solos that will make this an appealing and essential release that delivers a pure exhilarating feast of Finnish Metal! Although the nebular dimness of the desolate bleak season is dominant, the winter sun that lies hidden beneath the grim dark haze will not be left unnoticed.

More News On Wintersun:


  1. Wintersun posts the first studio trailer for upcoming album Time I – Metal Riot7/6/2012 10:38 AM | Permalink

    […] Metal News, Reviews, and More NewsRadarMRTV Black MetalMetal Riot Album ReviewsUpcoming ShowsAlbum Release ScheduleMetal Riot Band IndexMetal Riot Label IndexMetal Heads Chart Sign In|Sign Up function setReview(x){ var y = 1; while(y Previous Story|Next Story […]

  2. Wintersun reveals artwork for upcoming album “TIME I” – Metal Riot8/17/2012 9:52 AM | Permalink

    […] On Wintersun Wintersun Profiles: Metal Riot   […]

  3. Video Trailer: Heidenfest 2012 – Featuring Samples of Two New Wintersun Tracks – Metal Riot8/28/2012 11:23 AM | Permalink

    […] On Wintersun Wintersun Profiles: Metal Riot   […]

  4. Wintersun pushes release date of “Time I” – Metal Riot9/14/2012 9:44 AM | Permalink

    […] On Wintersun Wintersun Profiles: Metal Riot   […]

  5. Video: Wintersun releases fourth video teaser – The Bonus DVD – Metal Riot10/12/2012 10:34 AM | Permalink

    […] On Wintersun Wintersun Profiles: Metal Riot   […]

  6. Music: Wintersun streams entire Time I album – Metal Riot10/18/2012 11:20 AM | Permalink

    […] On Wintersun Wintersun Profiles: Metal Riot   […]

  7. Interview: Kai Hahto and Jukka Koskinen of Wintersun – Metal Riot8/14/2014 12:11 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Wintersun […]

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.