Search Results for "Swallow the Sun"

Finnish melancholy death-doom metal masters Swallow The Sun have just announced their North American headline tour today. The band will be on tour this Spring with special guests Infected Rain and Wheel. Catch the band on tour starting April 20th in Tampa and ending on May 24th in Dallas. Tickets are available for purchase HERE.

“We have been touring many times in North America since 2007 but never headlined before this,” states Swallow The Sun’s Mikko Kotamäki about the upcoming headline tour. “So it’s about time to play you a decent length shows, not just 30-45min like before. Better get your tickets now and spread the word. No excuses, you asked for it, you got it! See you soon!”

The band will be touring in support of their most recent full-length album When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light. Swallow The Sun’s seventh studio album was produced by the band’s very own Jaani Peuhu and Juha Raivio and is their most personal, cleanest work to date. Purchase and stream When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light, which Heavy Blog Is Heavy calls “songwriting perfection”, HERE.

Swallow The Sun is Mikko Kotamaki (vocals), Matti Honkonen (bass), Juuso Raatkainen (drums), Jaani Peuhu (keys and vocals), Juho Raiha (guitar), and Juha Raivio (guitar and keys).

Dates BELOW.

Add to My Radar   Add to My Radar

Cover Art Battle: Skulls, Wings, & Blood

Posted by JDKleinhans on Monday, November 19, 2012 at 9:05 PM (PST)

Welcome to Metal Riot’s Cover Art Battle! Every week we try and show the best-of-the-best in metal cover art, ranging from the fantastically illustrated to hauntingly photographed and everything in between.

Another week, more album cover art to discover. New bands. Tenured bands. Enough shenanigans. Time for you to go and vote.

That is all.

Don’t forget to like us on our Facebook page to stay up to date on this and future Cover Art Battles and look through our gallery of past winners with comments from the bands.

***WINNER*** Sylencer – A Lethal Dose Of Truth (Sylencer)

Add to My Radar   Add to My Radar

Finnish epic doom metal collective Swallow The Sun are streaming a new track from their soon to be released (in North America) album Emerald Forest and the Blackbird. The song is called “Labyrinth of London (Horror Pt. IV)” and you can find it streaming by clicking right here. Emerald Forest and the Blackbird is set for a September 4, 2012 Spinefarm Records release in North America and has already received much acclaim since it’s recent release in Europe.

Swallow The Sun has had a long running lyrical connotation with the television series Twin Peaks and this song is no exception.  The band recently quoted the series when asked about the track:  “Dark. Laughing. The owls were flying. Many things were blocked. Laughing. The owls were near. The dark was pressing in on her. Quiet then. Later, footsteps. One man passed by. Screams far away. Terrible, terrible. One voice.”

In support of the album Swallow The Sun will be embarking on fall North American tour with German metal legends Kreator and Accept.  The tour is being called The Teutonic Terror Attack and additional support will come from Canadian death metal group Blackgaurd.

For tour dates, venues etc. you can click right here.

Add to My Radar   Add to My Radar